Showing posts with label digital. Show all posts
Showing posts with label digital. Show all posts

Thursday, July 10, 2014

NEW RELEASE: DEVO The Men Who Make The Music / Butch Devo & The Sundance Gig available on DVD and Digital Formats on August 12

What We're Watching:

       Classic DEVO live in 1978-79 
philosophy and more!

Click here to see Rolling Stone premieres "Too Much Paranoia" clip

Here at ChiIL Live Shows we dig DEVO. We grew up with their music and they were still fanstastic when we saw them tour with Blondie on the Whip It To Shreds Tour.  This new DVD/digital release is a must have for any serious music collector. Why?

It's in demand: The original VHS it's based on goes for hundreds of dollars! 

It's subversive:  Originally shelved by Time Life due to concerns about its anti-music industry content.

It's a slice of music history:  Some of the earliest professionally shot footage of DEVO And Bonus film: 1996 Sundance Film Festival live show featuring early DEVO songs

The Men Who Make the Music combines concert footage from DEVO's 1978 tour with music videos and interstitials featuring a vague story about DEVO's rocky relationship with "Big Entertainment." 

As for the bonus program, Butch Devo and the Sundance Gig, Jerry Casale says, "In January of '96, we closed Sundance Film Festival. We wore 20s style prison suits and dished out classic DEVO songs to an unsuspecting audience of Hollywood elite."

Track Listing
  • Jocko Homo (Music video, taken from "The Truth About De-evolution")
  • General Boy 1
  • Wiggly World (Live)
  • General Boy 2
  • The Day My Baby Gave Me A Surprise (Music video)
  • Roll Out The Barrel (AKA "Rod Rooter's Big Reamer")
  • Praying Hands (live)
  • General Boy 3
  • Uncontrollable Urge (Live)
  • (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction (Music video)
  • General Boy 4
  • Jocko Homo (Live, partial performance)
  • Secret Agent Man (Music video, take from "The Truth About De-evolution")
  • Smart Patrol / Mr. DNA (Live)
  • Come Back Jonee (Music Video)
  • General Boy 5
  • Red Eye (Live)
  • Devo Corporate Anthem

Product Details
  • Format: DVD
  • SKU: MVD6055D
  • UPC: 760137605591
  • Street Date: 08/12/14
  • PreBook Date: 07/08/14
  • Label: MVD VISUAL »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 144 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: 5.1 SURROUND
  • Year of Production: 1981
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

DEVO Reissues Hardcore Volumes 1 & 2 Digitally and on Vinyl TODAY

Janet Macoska--Photo Credit

DEVO Reissues Hardcore Volumes 1 & 2 Digitally and on Vinyl
Indie Rock | Electronica/Dance | Rock

ChiIL Live Shows recently caught up with Devo on their tour with Blondie, hilariously named The Whip Her to Shreds Tour.  They've still got it.  Chicago Theatre was hopping and the guys put on an excellent, high energy show.   Now were happy to announce they're reissuing Hardcore with two new releases from the archives.

Seminal Recordings Available Now For The First Time Since 1991
Pre-orders for previously unreleased demos and rare live recording launched in conjunction with release of Hardcore

DEVO is pleased to announce that Hardcore Volumes 1 & 2 have been reissued and are available at digital retailers worldwide today.  Hardcore has also been released today as a limited pressing of vinyl, with the double CD album to follow shortly after with a July 9 release date, via Superior Viaduct.
DEVO's Hardcore Volumes 1 & 2 document DEVO history with early 4-track recordings made between 1974-1977. Containing some of the earliest DEVO output, Hardcore includes rarely-heard tracks alongside demos of classic songs like "Satisfaction," "Jocko Homo," and "Mongoloid." The collections were only briefly released in the early 90s and have been long out of print.
Reminiscing on the process behind these essential pieces of punk history, Gerald Casale says:
1974. The rough beginning of our Hardcore Devo recording struggles began in a basement in Akron, Ohio. Bob Mothersbaugh and myself would get right to work after our day jobs deconstructing various sonic fragments, picking and pulsing into the late hours interrupted only by a mandatory fast food break. Soon, Mark and Jim Mothersbaugh joined the nightly sessions. By late 1976, when the rental location changed and the basement was bigger, we had all 5 Devo cylinders pumping in galvanized, industrial force with Mark Mothersbaugh on keyboards and Moog and Arp synthesizers, Bob Mothersbaugh on lead guitar, Bob Casale on rhythm guitar, Alan Myers on drums and myself on bass. By the summer of 1977 we had over 40 songs including the finished 4-track versions of all the songs that would eventually appear on the first two albums of our label deal with the devil. The beginning really was the end. However, beginnings, no matter how rough, are always good. Listen and see for yourself.

To celebrate the release of this classic album, DEVO has selected two additional releases from the archives to be made available digitally for the first time. Something Else for Everybody and Live 1981 Seattle are now available for pre-order digitally on iTunes. Something Else for Everybody features demos and outtakes from the 2010 release Something for Everybody, while Live 1981 Seattle contains a rare live recording from the “New Traditionalists” tour. Both albums will be released on July 23.
In addition, all of these digital albums are available at, either individually or bundled with both Hardcore volumes. 

For more information:

Google Analytics