Showing posts with label 4 song EP release. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 4 song EP release. Show all posts

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Ex Friends To Release 7" Sept. 18 Song Streaming Now

Ex Friends (ft. Plow United Bassist Joel Tannenbaum) To Release New 7" On Paper + Plastick Records on Sept. 18; Song Streaming Now

Philadelphia punk rockers Ex Friends (featuring Plow United bassist Joel Tannenbaum on lead vocals and guitar) have announced a new 7" release on Paper + Plastick Records set for Sept. 18. The four-song 7" is titled No Wonder We Prefer The Dark, and will contain one extra bonus track on the digital verison of the EP. A new song, "The Legend of The Holy Drinker," is now available to stream on Paper + Plastick's YouTube channel.

Recommended If You Like: Early '90s Lookout! Records punk rock influenced by bands like Husker Du, Leatherface

The band, fronted by Tannenbaum, features respected punk designer / illustrator JP Flexner on drums, bassist / vocalist Audrey Crash, and guitarist Jayme Guokas. The group began when Plow United played Philadelphia's Riot Fest in 2011 and Tannenbaum approached Flexner about working with Crash and Guokas. "Only a month and several wildly productive practices later, the newly formed Ex Friends were making plans with Arik Victor of Creep Records to record our first EP," Flexner says. "As if this little story couldn't get any cooler, friend of punk rock and all-around nice guy Vinnie Fiorello of Paper + Plastick Records agreed to release the EP, making this experience one of the few in my life where everything has worked out well - even beyond my wildest expectations."

Tannenbaum is quick to recognize the differences between his work with Plow United and Ex Friends, saying simply, "In Plow United I'm navigating. In Ex Friends I'm driving." He is quick to point out the talent surrounding him in Crash, a classically trained musician, and Guokas, who has experience recording hundreds of songs in various past bands. "In both bands I'm surrounded by amazing and talented people. When Plow United started up again, I started writing songs like crazy and it became evident pretty early on that some of them were Plow United songs and some were...something else. That turned into Ex Friends."

No Wonder We Prefer the Dark was recorded with Arik Victor from Creep Records in North Philadelphia during December 2011. It will be made available on Sept. 18 in digital and vinyl formats via Paper + Plastick Records.

Ex Friends - No Wonder We Prefer the Dark
September 18, 2012
Paper + Plastick Records

1. The Legend of the Holy Drinker
2. Ex Friends
3. So Many Kisses
4. Waimanalo Confidential
5. Archaeologists of the Future (digital only)

Google Analytics