Showing posts with label Inflated Records. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Inflated Records. Show all posts

Monday, August 26, 2013

Heaven's Gate Premiere 'Screams' On Noisey Debut LP "Transmuting" Out September 24th On Inflated Records + Announce NY Shows

NY Shows:
9/14 - Brooklyn, NY - Music Hall Of Williamsburg #
9/28 - Brooklyn, NY - 285 Kent (Record Release Show)*
# w/ Screaming Females, Waxahatchee & Tenement
* w/ California X, The Dreebs & Blanche, Blanche Blanche

"Transmuting" Track Listing:
1. Roll The Dice
2. Drone
3. Fight
4. Clean
5. Lex Vision
6. I'm Forgetting
7. Screams
8. Iron Black
9. Always
10. Transmuting
11. Sun City

Praise For Heaven's Gate:
"The details are wonderful; especially the guitar work which jumps between fuzzy chaos and dark clarity, but it’s all tied together by front-woman Jess Paps and her incredible voice. At the best moments in "Drone," she takes the common "wordless vocals,"trend so often associated with shoegaze and makes it sound muscular and brutally aggressive. There is nothing you would call a coo here; Paps is not fucking around. " -–Stereogum

"Paps' sharp-tongued twang lends fiery credence" -- Spin

"Armed with ragged, airsick guitars, this self dubbed "powergaze" quintet from Brooklyn hurtle forward at an impressive rate" -- NME 

"Somewhere between noisey motorik and jangly pop-punk, these Brooklyn spazzes layer on the heavy, bawdy shit-gaze we’ve fallen in love with over and over…and over."--Impose

"Brooklyn has some new badasses, and their name is Heaven's Gate" --Noisey

Photo Credits: Marland Backus

Transmuting... is the debut LP from Heaven’s Gate. After releasing a 7" EP on Fire Talk last year, the Brooklyn five-piece will deliver this candy-coated muscle relaxer to your eardrums on September 24, 2013. There are echoes of bands like The Raincoats, My Bloody Valentine, and Wire, but Jess Paps (vocals), Michael Sheffiled (guitar), Alex Cvetovich (bass), Jack Wolf (guitar) and Patrick Stankard (drums) have created a frightening new energy.

Recorded at a house in Englewood, NJ with Scott Andrews, there are an abundance of layers on each track- synths, pianos, experimental electronics, loops, feedback. But the record is also deeply personal; you get a sense of the warmth of the house it was recorded in against a backdrop of an isolated wintertime, when most of the songs were written. There is a feeling that there is no escaping the winter and the album embodies this eerie spatiality.

Transmuting... is about the process of tearing out of symbiosis and moving forward from loss. Raucous punk, polyrhythmic percussion, rich melodies and a wash of buzzsaw effects decorate each track. The songs deal with fading memories, reoccurring nightmares, facing demons, and the exorcism of the self. Piercing and meditative, dissonant and familiar, sparse yet mired, human yet digital; Transmuting serves as the long awaited bridge between the group's birth and their self-actualization.

Google Analytics